top of page
Search

Recurring fires

My house is on fire

And all you do is sit and stare

My house is on fire

And all you say is “it wasn’t my fault”

Your knees on my neck

Have me choking

I can barely breathe,

But what do you care ?

Have a become a monster?

When you say that all lives matter

All houses matter

I get you,they do.

But please

Be human for a second

All the houses on the block are safe

But mine keeps BURNING DOWN

Every second you’re silent

Every second you pretend to not see color

Every second you act neutral

The ashes are too many

All tears have been dried

All hearts have been numbed.


It didn’t start yesterday

it’s been happening for too long

Why do you choose to be toxic and bitter

When love is being served at the table as well?

So I heard you saying you don’t know

Heard you saying you’re neutral you’re not picking a side

Ignorance is not bliss

These lines are too vivid

To be blurred .

The truth’s in the eye

But your’s to the side

You deprive me of what isn’t yours to give and I wonder how well you sleep at night.

I’m tired of the cycle

Your absence and your silence now that my house is on fire is so much louder

Than the pats on the back

The pitiful glances

The hands you put together for me

Praising me for being strong, reminding that isn’t what I want to be.

I want to be safe

I want to be happy

So everytime I come out of a fire you have done nothing to stop

Don’t act like you care

Don’t praise me for my strength

Stop reminding me

That when I was choking

And you were breathing just fine

You slept just right

Knowing maybe I won’t be here tomorrow.


(in remembrance of people that have suffered due to racial discrimination: dead or grieving)




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shackles

There comes a time in the circle of life where everything is on a loop Like pins and needles s(he) devours you mind body and soul The moth always excruciatingly close to the flame but they never colli

Dear Daughter in Heaven,

My dear Uwera, You had always been everything for everyone and the pedestal we put you on was where you belonged But never did I think the universe would take that perspective literally and take you a

Miscarriage;

My dear daughter, I would have been your mom and you would have been my very own, You could have been the light of my life and you'd be beautiful like sunset, You would have been the peak of all my da

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page